Agarkov’s estate is a complex palace that is deprived of tourists’ attention unfairly. Indeed, it’s hard to discern the architectural merit in these vestiges. The preserved ruins are more like a production building of a collective farm. But what really happened here, and why should you visit this place? Just keep reading to know!
The history of Agarkov’s estate
The estate hasn’t always belonged to the Agarkovs. When the Russo-Turkish War of 1768-1774 ended, the Austrian consul Johann (Ivan Grigorievich) Rosarovich was the owner of the household. Thus, the village was called “Rosarovka” or “Konsulovka”. Over time, the estate passed into the possession of the Esaulovs. It’s unknown how and for what kind of merit it passed into the ownership of this family. But the Agarkovs won the household in cards.
An interesting story of the estate transferring from the Esaulovs to the Agarkovs was described in the book “The brief tale of myself” by Boris Lavrenyov. According to it, the sole heiress of the rich household was sixteen-year-old Daria Esaulovа. Naturally, a lot of men tried to court the wealthy lady. But the only artillery poruchick (a junior officer rank in some Slavic countries) Xavier Tsekhanovich won the lady’s heart. The parents accepted Daria’s choice and gave their blessings for the marriage. In 1856, Daria and Xavier were married. Daughter Maria was born in this marriage.
Naturally, the poruchik had never felt love for her. Tsekhanovich convinced his wife to transfer the inheritance to his own name. So, he started a dissipated life and had money to blow. A few years later, Tsekhanovich gambled away the estate and vanished. Agarkov has become a new owner of the household. So, Daria was back to square one. Then, she signed up as a housekeeper in the house of Zhuravsky, who was a marshal of the nobility. There were rumors that Tsekhanovich conclusively lost himself into drinking and died somewhere in Astrakhan.
But the household got into the good hands of the new owner. Michael Fedorovich Agarkov proved to be an honorary citizen and philanthropist. The school, hospital, orphanages were under his guardship. Moreover, Agarkov built a church in his second estate that was located in Mylove village. So, he added 145 acres of land to his property. When Michael Fedorovich Agarkov died, the household passed into the possession of Fyodor Semyonovich Agarkov. The new owner was the first who managed archeological excavations of the Kam’yanska Sich. Moreover, he donated several artifacts to the Kherson Museum.
When Soviet times came, the Respublicanets collective farm was organized in the household. Then, the estate was destroyed after the Second World War. Nowadays, only administrative, manufactory, and stockroom buildings remain. The estate isn’t a landmark officially.
What’s interesting in the estate for tourists
There was a two-story building with a tower-shaped annex. The tower’s pyramidal dome merged into a spire. From the east, a veranda to overlook the Dnipro River was added to the main building. An avenue and waterworks were just before the veranda. And the avenue led to the ruins of the Kam’yanska Sich. A grotto in the form of a natural cave was settled north of the avenue. The grotto has survived to this day. A garden was set up around the palace.
Nowadays, only manufactory and stockroom buildings remain. There’s nothing left of the palace. But local citizens still use plumbing that was built by Agarkov.
You can see the ruins of the Kam’yanska Sich and the burial place of the Kish otaman Kost Hordiyenko just a few miles away from the estate. Perhaps, these landmarks have survived till our days only through the Agarkovs support.
Where Agarkov’s estate is located and how to get to it
The estate is located in Respublicanets’ village. You can reach the place by car. Follow the Beryslav Highway (the E97-P47-M17 routes). The road is in bad condition, so a low clearance car can’t pass through it.
Public transport runs regularly. Just take the bus to Respublicanets’ village at the bus station in Kherson (Polkovnyka Kedrovskoho St, 1). By bus, you should get to Beryslav (Ploshcha Pryvokzalʹna), and then - to Respublicanets.
Comments: Agarkov’s Estate: description, photos, and history
It looks like no one has commented on this article yet ...
Why not be the first?
Leave a comment