The park was located between Kherson fortress and the Greek Suburbs. A picturesque view of the Dnipro is visible from the park’s peaks. A more than 120-year-old pedunculate oak stands in the center of the park. Eight alleys stretch from it in different directions like eight sun rays. There are plenty of children’s activities.
History of the park
It was founded in 1785 by order of Potemkin. At the end of the 19th century, Kherson City Council decided to replace the decidious trees of the park with conifers. However, despite all the efforts of gardeners, coniferous plants did not take root here. Throughout its history, the park has experienced ups and downs, decline and prosperity. The names changed: "Denisovsky", "Alexandrovsky", "Taraso-Shevchenkovsky", "Lenin Park", "City Park". Only one thing has not changed - this is one of the most popular spots among residents. In 2016, the park was renamed as “Shevchenko Park.”
Park on the map
Shevchenko Park is located at 1 Liuteranska Street.