The history of monument
The initiator of monument installation was governor-general Vorontsov who, in 1823, announced the fundraising for the manufacture of the monument. The famous sculptor Martos made a draft of the sculpture of Potemkin, presenting the prince as an ancient hero. In 1836, the monument was erected. Over time, a square was set up around the monument, which is still a favorite place for walks among residents.
In 1917, the monument was covered with tarpaulin, for which it received the name "the Ghost of Kherson." The statue was later dismantled, and in its place a bust of Karl Marx was installed. Potemkin's monument was stored at the Museum of History and Archaeology for more than 20 years, and during the Second World War, it disappeared without a trace.
In 2003, in honor of the celebration of the 225th anniversary of Kherson, the monument was restored by the sculptor Yuri Stepanyan and installed in its former place.
Monument on the map
The monument to Hryhorii Potemkin is located at 9 Staroobriadnytska Street.
Comments: The Monument to Potemkin
It looks like no one has commented on this article yet ...
Why not be the first?
Leave a comment