The history of the well
It was built in 1785. The initial depth is about 80 meters. The water in the well was tasty, clear and fully drinkable. The well had a copper lid with a royal coat of arms to protect against bad weather and garbage getting in.
According to local historians, the lid was removed during the Second World War by the retreating German troops. The lifting wheel of the well was set in motion by a steam engine - one of the first that appeared in Kherson. When Kherson fortress lost its fortification value, the steam engine was taken to Odesa. The well is inlaid with inhulet limestone.
In 2005, the well was reconstructed and cleaned. Currently, its depth is about 30 meters. The fortress well is still shrouded in mystery. For example, to this day, it is not known whether it is connected to underground passages and where do they lead.
Well on the map
The fortress water well, called “Catherine’s Well” by Kherson residents, is located in the park "Kherson Fortress" at 13 Perekopska Street.
Comments: The Well in Kherson Fortress
It looks like no one has commented on this article yet ...
Why not be the first?
Leave a comment