The Church of the Holy Martyr Alexandra is located in the center of Kherson at 3 Perekopska Street. This is the chapel of the former Second Mariinsky Women's Gymnasium. The laying of the church took place on May 31st, 1898. The construction work was carried out at the expense of charitable contributions of the city residents and lasted four years.
History of creation
The construction was completed in 1902, and the church was consecrated in the name of the Martyr Empress Alexandra. Alexandra believed in Christ for which she was sentenced to death by her husband, Emperor Diocletian.
The church was built by the architect Casimir Quinto. Local stone and red brick were used to build the church. In the architectural elements of the building, you can observe a successful combination of pseudo-Russian and Romanesque styles. A distinctive feature is the location of the altar in the northern part of the church. Unfortunately, the unique mirrored domes of the church were not preserved.
Since 1992, the temple was transferred to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church. Worship service is conducted in Ukrainian.